Food Smart: Nutrition Labels

This week, I revisited my healthy lifestyle goals and I went to workout for the first time in a year (gasp).  The workout got me thinking about what I eat.  I have to be honest with myself, I don’t know much about nutrition. With a toddler, I am more thoughtful with food.  I meal plan, stay away from processed food much more than I have before, but that doesn’t guarantee a balanced diet for our family.  I don’t really know what a true balanced diet would look like.

I have decided to get my food act together.  I am determined to get myself food smart.   To start, I need to understand those darn labels on the back of food packages.  Now, at least, when I’m munching on my Pirates Booty, I will know what I’m doing to my body.  Good or bad.

I found this helpful video explaining how to read nutritional labels. Take a look. Maybe you’ll learn something new. I did.

Leave a Reply

