Mommy and Me Out and About #2-A Shopping Trip

For all you new moms out there, I am sorry to break the news to you, but you will need some transitional clothes after childbirth.  I was hoping I would be one of the lucky few who by their sixth week postpartum could fit back into my pre-pregnancy skinny jeans.  That did not happen.  I was somewhere in between really loose maternity clothes and too tight pre-pregnancy clothes, I needed some in between clothes for my in between body.

This brings me to my second Mommy and Me Out and About:

#2 A Shopping Trip

Now, I’m not talking about a quick trip to get some milk, I am talking about a good two hours to get yourself some new clothes.  While you are adjusting to mommy life, it is important that you look and feel good.  Wearing your maternity clothes and knowing you won’t fit into your pre-pregnancy clothes can be frustrating.  You deserve to treat yourself out to some new clothes that fit your current body.

In planning for this shopping trip I would suggest enlisting some help from someone you trust.  It should be someone who will be honest with you about how you look and can help care for the little one while you try on clothes.  For my first shopping trip out, I went with my sister.  We had my little guy in the stroller, walked out to Chicago’s State Street. We browsed Old Navy, Forever 21, Ann Taylor Loft, H&M, and Macy’s.  Since the clothes I was purchasing are transitional pieces, I didn’t want to spend too much on them.  I ended up buying a pair of pants and a blouse from Ann Taylor Loft, a blouse from H & M,  a pair of electric blue colored jeans and a cardigan from Forever 21. I consider it a successful shopping trip. By the end of the week, I was wearing clothes that fit and felt much better about my appearance.

So what are you waiting for? Get on the phone and plan that shopping trip!

Below is a picture of my little guy at Macy’s on State Street.

One thought on “Mommy and Me Out and About #2-A Shopping Trip

  1. Well, I’m a very, very odd statistic in new motherhood but I actually am still 10 lbs below my pre-pregnancy weight. Isn’t it crazy how each pregnancy/postpartum lifestyle is SO different for everyone? It’s safe to say that there are no two new moms alike!

    First, I had to live in saggy pants including work pants then I finally made a conscious decision to buy a freakin’ belt, which helped but I had no confidence in them. They were still saggy but just at least didn’t fall off my body. We splurged and Hubby got me some designer jeans that FIT! Why do the nice jeans always cost more? :-p

    So, I wholeheartedly agree that mommies do deserve an updated wardrobe for their ‘new’ body.

Leave a Reply

